What's new

shortening chain

TOM

Maximum Pace
Apr 9, 2007
...just got myself a chain connecting tool (the shimano TL-CN27) to try and fix chain slap by removing a link or two. Problem is I have never done this before and I'm an awful mechanic...:eek:

* Chain is a brand-new Dura-Ace 10 Speed (when put on, I had a 11-28T cassette and my LBS had to make the chain longer - however, I'm no longer needing this wide-range cassette and reverted back to a standard 12-25T cassette. The chain is now too long and causing annoying chain slap over rougher parts in the road surface)

* My big question is, where do I start with the "cutting"? Must I start with the "master link" and if so, do I need the chain connecting tool for that?

Somewhere I read that you have to use pliers and apply force to the links on either side of the master link making sure it is on top of a loop...a bit confused here.

where do I start with the "cutting? Must I start with the "master link" and if so, do I need the chain connecting tool for that?
TOM I have not used that tool - only the Topeak attachments on multitools. But I've successfully broken and joined and spliced many chains.

I stay away from the master link.

In your situation, I'd do this:

Pop the chain off the crankwheel to release any tension from the derailleur.

From the left side of the bike, pick a link and push the pin almost but not quite all the way out. If you pop it right out you'll find it really difficult to get back in. But if that does happen don't worry because you've another chance coming up! Once you have it just right the chain should come apart with a little wiggle. Shouldn't need pliers.

Go along two pins (one whole link) and pop the pin out... or not depending on how successful you were with the above step.

Now go round to the right side of the bike. Line up the broken ends and ease the pin back through.